I am terrible at finding comprehensible compelling input in English

I am new to English thing.

I want to learn how to read and write in English.

And I see my English skills are gradually increasing. But I have a problem. I am too uninterested about reading anything. Though, I see myself getting better gradually…

Though, I want to read and write fluidly (I am not saying perfect), I can’t keep reading in English and also in my native Language. It’s not a language or content problem.

It’s me not finding the things that interest me problem. I have tried reading fiction, history, manga, comic books… None of them seemed to work for me.

I find myself in a stagnant position when it comes to finding interesting content. The only thing that is interesting nowadays is “How to find an interesting content topics” for me. Weird. I know.

It’s a weird situation. I couldn’t find an interesting content for me. (Don’t get me wrong. I have found trillions of content in English. I just can’t keep going. I can’t find my interest. It’s weird to be human…)

Have you experienced similar things? Like, you know you have good enough content to read, you know you can relax and enjoy the ride, but somehow can’t start because of lack of interest of context or content.

I don’t know. I probably couldn’t convey my problem. But at least this post is a good way to start.

Have you experienced similar things?

1 Like

You write English quite well, so I’d say you have a good start. I’m not sure where you will find your interest, but I will share something I have experienced.

I sometimes find myself drifting, especially when listening, and I lose the thread of the conversation. I used to interpret this as not being interested, but now I think it was challenging for me to get into and hold onto the thread due to my language ability not quite being there yet.