How to talk to beginners

Beginners cannot say much, if anything. I have one young learner, a 14 year old home schooler from Virginia who signed up for a one month course with me in Russian. We spoke in English and I explained how to learn and how to use LingQ. He had some questions about Russian, the writing system, pronunciation etc. As a learner myself I was able to answer. I think it was useful.

My point is that we need people to offer courses for learning, say English, with the course description, questions, and even much of the on line discussion will be in Portuguese, Japanese, or French or whatever the native language of the tutor and learner is.

“English beginner for Portuguese speakers” etc. Then, once the learner has had a month or two with a person who speaks his native language, if the learner does enough listening, reading and lingquing, he is ready to move on to a native speaker.

I’m new to LingQ, and I’m definitely not a Tutor, so I don’t know if it’s okay for me to post here…?

But I do teach English as a foreign language, as my job, so I have a lot of experience teaching beginners, however I actually don’t speak in the student’s native language at all. I don’t know if this is possible for your LingQ system. I know if I were talking with a tutor here (I haven’t yet), I would prefer that they make me speak my language-of-study, and not let me speak English at all.

I realize maybe most students wouldn’t be comfortable with this, so maybe this is why you don’t consider using this style. My (real life) students are uncertain at first, but I do my best to make the atmosphere warm and stress free, and use only words or phrases the student knows or is studying - which obviously is very little for beginners.

Some of my first classes with English-learners begin like this:

T: Hello
S: Hello.
T: Name?
S: My name is Andrei.
T: Question? Me? Name?
S: What’s your name?
T: My name is Jen. From?
S: I’m from Russia.
T: Question? Me? From?