How to learn Vocabulary (and language) by Steve Kaufmann

Following video by Steve Kaufmann is in my opinion one the best and most important videos he has done about learning languages. It also explains some of how to use the unkown, lingQ and know words.

4 Likes

Maybe I’m alone here, but in German I can’t learn vocabulary without trying. For ages I found German words not sticking until I made a very determined effort to try, by consciously focussing on words. Just listening and clicking on words was no good.

In French, a language in which I have a much higher level, words can stick after repeated hearing, sometimes at the first listen if I add some context e.g. Google for images relating to the word.

I do have a poor memory, maybe that is the issue.

5 Likes

I doubt that having a poor memory is the issue. It seems clear that (for you) German and French words are different. I have no knowledge of German, so I can’t guess the reason. But French and English share a huge number of word roots, so you can often just “Frenchify” a word you already know in English.

There is no reason to assume that what is the “best method” for Steve is the best method for you. I watch Steve’s videos because he expresses ideas very well, and he expresses many good ideas about language learning. He has the “teacher” skill: figuring out how something works and then explaining it. Many other people (like me) can do something but not explain it to others.

For my own language study, I have to figure out what works for me. My method might be different at different levels, and different for different languages, as well as different from other learners. So I take ideas from anywhere, and I try some of them, but I don’t expect them to be right for me.

No, my comment was made assuming the words have no obvious cognates. Thus éternuer, torcher, fracasser, tracasser, patauger, écarquier, entériner and so on are example French words without obvious cognates in English.