How to become a native speaker?

how to become a native speaker?

Step 1- be born in an english-speaking country
Step 2- be surrounded by people who speak English
Step 3- enjoy being a native speaker

You can’t sound like a native speaker from another language as hard as you try with everything you’ve got. It’s impossible. You can gain fluency, but native like is impossible.

(…) You can’t sound like a native speaker from another language as hard as you try with everything you’ve got. It’s impossible. (…)

I don’t think it is possible either, at least so far I have not met anybody who could convince me of the contrary. I have been studying and using English for 30 years, also professionally as a simultaneous interpreter. But what I know about and in English does not even come close to my knowledge in my native tongue (and it does not have to).

Gaining fluency is already quite a challenging objective. If you want to use foreign languages professionally, you might have to reach an even higher level (depending on the kind of work you do) but sounding like a native is not necessary.

On the other hand, I have met quite a few foreigners who from a grammatical point of view and as for the spelling write better German than many native speakers. I guess the same is true of many people who study other foreign languages.

Speaking like a native is a different matter, I think. I have met some foreigners studying German who actually made me believe German was their native tongue for a short time. Usually, however, after a while you become aware of something “foreign” in the way they structure their sentences or pronounce certain words.

There is nothing wrong with that. I think there are two major groups of people amongst those who try to be taken for a native speaker in the language they study. The first group is just ambitious as to their study goals, the second wants to avoid to be perceived as foreign (immigrants for example).