How should I go about learning Japanese?

Should I only do it on LingQ?

No you should also watch Japanese shows, listen to Japanese music, and read what interests you in Japanese if you’re into that kind of stuff. :slight_smile:

Four years ago I started off as a complete beginner with the first of the two levels of Assimil Japanese. I read through about 2 of those chapters a day and put a lot of words and phrases I thought would be useful on Memrise, and reviewed those on a daily basis. After about a month or two, I had mostly gone through about 3/4 of the book and Assimil got a bit boring for me, which is when I took on Lingq and stopped using flashcards bc there would simply be too many of them. If you’re complete beginner or you only know Japanese through anime, Lingq can be a bit of a hassle because it will feel like you’re lingqing every single word and an entire page of yellow can be overwhelming. So what I do is buy/cop a beginner book, read through most of it and review the vocabulary via flashcards/etc. then when you’ve developed the most basic vocabulary (especially important Japanese Particles like “ga”, “no”, and how to use them!!) go onto Lingq.

Are there any good resources for reading?

google + something your interested in in Japanese

Try Japanese Ammo on YouTube, there is a grammar series of around 50 videos, great explanations, with focus on informal and colloquial language.
I am currently doing that, plus Pimsleur (now finishing part 3), plus 80/20 Japanese (a good though a bit pricey ebook). I also have a japanesepod101 subscription, it’s a great intro source too. With a good background on characters (heisig my favorite also with Chinese), you’re good to go read anything intermediate (“news in slow japanese”, …)