How long to learn German

I need to learn german in 3 years. I already know around 400 words by heart (i rarely use Lingq so its not accurate, i keep a list of every word i know) and am pretty good with my grammar. The reason why I need to learn is in 3 years my dad is taking me to Stuttgart, München, Köln, Berlin, and then to Poland to see Auschwitz, for my senior trip. I also need to know what are the most important things to learn for this. Is there a way to learn german in this time with low intensity? If so how long? Along with this, I should state I have been learning for around 6-9 months already.

1 Like

I’ve been learning German with very low intensity for 40 years, and I am just approaching B2 on the CEFR scale.

Language-learning is, for many of us, a life-long process, although there are some folks who are able to learn more quickly.

Also, it depends what your definition of “low intensity” is. However, I would say that, at the rate you are going, with 400 words known in six to nine months, you will know about 2000 words in three more years time, and that is almost certainly not enough to be able to converse on anything but the most basic level. So if you want to learn German in three years, you’re probably going to need to put in some higher intensity effort, such as a full immersion class, or intensive reading on LingQ.

2 Likes

You will manage your trip with English, for example at the train station or in the restaurant. On the other hand, my experience is that you take away more from the country if you know the language. Try to aquire a good listening comprehention.

In regards to Auschwitz, the Marshall plan and the “Deutsch-Französische Freundschaft” brought us back to the free world. Germany is a powerful nation with a traumatic experience.

Maybe you want to read this speech of the former German president Richard von Weizsäcker: https://www.bundespraesident.de/SharedDocs/Reden/DE/Richard-von-Weizsaecker/Reden/1985/05/19850508_Rede.html