How long did it take you to notice improvement in your language learning ability?

So, I started learning German about 5 days ago and till now, it is all wishy washy. I remember a few words for short time and then it is all wishy washy.
I love Mini Stories and Flashcards feature of this platform. Curious to know about your journeys! And how much time do you guys give to language learning?

3 Likes

Well, I didnā€™t quite believe it to be this dramatic, but your first language is the hardest youā€™ll learn (not counting your native one(s) but obviously it takes you 3 years just to string a sentence together there XD )

Nah, but for me, it was French and 6 months, I had been incredibly laissez-faire with my French, never really touching it at all after the second month. Yet magically, six months later, I felt like I could grasp gists of it that Iā€™d never been able to understand before. I didnā€™t understand any content, but I knew kind of what was going on, and just understanding the topic felt amazing to me back then. Iā€™ve heard Steve Kaufman bring up the topic of ā€œgestationā€ before, almost like yeast you need to allow your language to settle before itā€™s noticeable.

It has varied from language to language, but with intensive studying two months have been enough to realize a marked improvement, all up until like 6 months.
I would argue that it is pivotal for your sake to write a diary marking your emotions, self-assessments and feelings regarding the language once every week or month. Because it is SO easy to think everything you know is ā€œobviousā€ sometimes now Iā€™ll read entire books in French and due to how similar it feels to English I completely disregard these skills and think all the words were so similar to English anyways. By writing your skills down, youā€™ll realize these developments before you actually internalize them.

6 Likes