How important are the flashcards?

Since I started studying German in Lingq, I have never used the activities of the website. I only read and listen a lot and change the degree of knowledge of my “Lingq’s” until they become known words for me.

Steve often says he goes through his flashcards putting everything in the front, but I do not even review them that way.

Those who have spent more time learning in Lingq … How important do you think it is to carry out these activities for language learning?

1 Like

To me flashcards will never trump reading/listening practise.

I would say, keep doing what you’re doing, and only do flashcards if you feel like that is something you would like to do.

1 Like

I think that if the language you are studying is similar to your mother tongue then it’s not necessary to review vocabulary (maybe later when you want to stick some words in your mind).

But if it’s a very different language (like English was for me) then I would review the words at least for 15 minutes every day.

Thanks, niek1337. I will keep reading and listening, because doing flashcards is really tedious for me :frowning:

Not similar to my mother tongue (Spanish), but to English that I already know. Do you review all your lings? Because I already have many to review them all.

Yes, I review them all, even when there’s a lot, but I prefer to use Anki for it.

I don’t bother if there’s a lot to review, because if I just do it on a daily basis it will get easier and easier, right now, for example, I can’t even remember when it was the last time I used Anki, but next week I will come back to it. I probably have 2 thousands English words to review, but probably I will review only 100 each day. It doesn’t take much time, I just read the phrase, try to understand, see the translation, and move on to the next phrase.

2 Likes

Everything depends on a concrete person.
If you like using flashcards - use them.
If you don’t like doing it - don’t do it.