How do you keep yourself motivated everyday?

So, I have been using this platform for a month now, My question is: How do you guys keep yourself motivated?
I am already feeling a bit tired. Like, Oh, here I go again doing the same thing (learning a language) again and again.

So, how you guys avoid boredom?

4 Likes

I ditched all the advice, tips and tricks I could find on the Internet only to focus on what I love doing in my target language.

I love Korean cinema and reading mystery/horror stories, so all my sessions are dedicated to that. I am not particularly interested in becoming a flawless speaker of the language. Some would argue it’s a shame, but I couldn’t care less. It’s about me and my goals, not other people’s.

I found that this has worked extremely well for me. I have been doing this for the last two years and always look forward to studying because I know I’ll get to do what I am passionate about.

Don’t hesitate to trim and adjust your language learning routine. It’s taken me time and many trials and errors before finding something that works for me.

21 Likes

If there is something that it benefits me to do every day (but isn’t much fun), I limit it to 15-30 minutes each day in each TL. For the mini-stories, that is one mini-story each day. If it is longer content, I only do part of it each day.

If I find content that is more interesting, I spend more time on that. That means that part of my time is searching the internet for more interesting content, and keeping track of it when I find it. Naturally, that content changes as my level changes. A video podcast that was just noise 6 months ago might be okay now.

To study spoken Chinese, I watch Chinese TV drama episodes (and podcasts) on YouTube with subtitles in both English and Chinese. If I hear a word I don’t know, I pause and look it up.

4 Likes