How can I help with the Finnish content?

Hi people, earlier this year I was helping my girlfriend learn Finnish with LingQ. I noticed that many of the word hints were wrong. Google Translate doesn’t translate Finnish to English very well, I guess. I was thinking what would be the best way to improve the hints? Or how can I help with other material? I’ve thought about creating my own texts and audio, that I could publish here, at some point.

I know Finnish is only a beta-language here, but I’m happy to help my girlfriend and others who are learning my mother tongue that I love :). I’m a native speaker of Finnish, but I’m not a professional Finnish teacher or translator or anything like that, but I would say that I know Finnish and English relatively well, so I think I could help in many things.

5 Likes

I wish you were Greek. :wink:

In my opinion, the best way to help out would be to find (or create) good Finnish content. Fixing hints would be a waste of your time. Particularly useful for language learners, I find, are natural dialogs between native speakers. You could record a discussion about a given topic with a friend, transcribe it, and upload it here. Otherwise, personal “diary” entries are very useful as well. I can provide you with examples here if you’d like, but most languages have a few already.

I’ll probably never get around to learning Finnish, but thanks for your efforts!

1 Like