Hindi

Does anyone have experience with Hindi and the difficulty of learning the script and the language? Do be brutal. Tell me the awful truth if there is one. Thanks.

I have some experience with learning Hindi. The alphabet isnā€™t too difficult. It is like learning the Russian Cyrillic alphabet which you may have done as I see you have Russian progress here on lingq. The main difficulty is the aspirated and unaspirated and the retroflex and dental sounds. The grammar is compared to Russian is pretty simple. When learning vocab try not to laugh, because some words sound funny. :smiley: Other than that Hindi isnā€™t too difficult.

I have some knowledge of consonant aspiration because Russian has unaspirated consonants and I can kind of reproduce them. What you are saying is that Hindi alternates between them?

Also, I notice that Teach Yourself has a dedicated course book for the script. Is this really necessary? In fact Iā€™d rather not buy it because I notice it doesnā€™t teach hand writing, which I think it should unless the alphabet is really complex and needs a separate book.

Have you seen this? ŠŸŠ¾Š»ŠøŠ³Š»Š¾Ń‚ хŠøŠ½Š“Šø Š·Š° 16 чŠ°ŃŠ¾Š²

I guess you will be able to learn the basics of Hindi and improve your Russian at the same time.

2 Likes

I know my humour is a bit off, but I cracked up at the guy @0:32 - ha!

1 Like

Youā€™re right. I may use this as a supplementary material. He speaks very clearly.

I admit I have Hindi on my wishlist of languages to study one day, but isnā€™t it the same situation as with Chinese, where Hindi is known by all Indians but they really speak Punjabi or other regional ā€œdialectsā€?

1 Like

I recommend this video by Langfocus on the language:

Hindi does alternate between the two, in my opinion, alot. Now onto the second part. The teach yourself script book is not needed, but if you need a book to learn to write the alphabet try this book. Amazon.com