Hindi has released! Who else is in to learn it deeply with me?

Hi LingQ forum, I have been excited for Hindi to launch for months, and the day has finally arrived, I’ve already learned (very loosely) Devanagari (the writing system) from Duolingo, so I’m excited to get straight into these stories.

I’ve also just now used ChatGPT to write really simple stories (still in Devanagari script) that I can then import into LingQ.

I’m sure I’m one of the earliest adopters of the Hindi language program, but I’m very interested to hear from anybody else who is as quick off the start as I am. :slight_smile:

Cheers!

10 Likes

I’m very happy it has finally been two. I have been waiting years. :smiley:

6 Likes

Two years ago I studied Hindi grammar but couldn`t go further. I wished LingQ had Hindi. So now is the time to restart my Hindi study. I hope when I complete mini-stories, more content will be added to LingQ.

4 Likes

I’m new to LingQ, though have used LWT and Lute a little, and through them got a feel for the main concept behind it. I’ve been waiting for LingQ to support Hindi, so was very happy to here Mr. Kaufmann announce its impending release recently.

I took two intro to Hindi courses in university in 2008, and did a little to try to keep up my practice thereafter, but never went too far. My professor had authored his own Hindi learning textbooks, and his method, along with his instruction, had me reading the script quite well in about two weeks! It was pretty mind blowing. (I recall it having to do with learning the characters in a certain order, organized by their shapes, not to do with the traditional Devanagari chart order.) Also got a pretty good grasp of the grammar at that time.