Hey LingQ! -- Fix Bugs, Stop Features, Users don't want to be Beta Testers

Recently I reupped for another year of LingQ.

I’ve noticed from my own experience and comments on this bulletin board, that LingQ is riddled with bugs and poor design choices, but nothing much changes aside from adding more features, not necessarily ones people are asking for, and breaking older features by releasing poorly tested code.

I’m a retired professional programmer from the Bay Area / Silicon Valley. I’ve never seen anything like this aside from amateur freeware. LingQ seems to be an out-of-control project from top to bottom. I suspect the codebase needs a major rewrite too.

How about it?

13 Likes

It’s well said, though I suspect they’re never gonna become accountable to their users. They act like they don’t give a thing for what would be right. Untill you have an alternative. they’re gonna abuse you like badly. Rise the price, break users learning flow regularly. Like, hey, you said something? Zoran, pal, tell them that we will look into it.

12 Likes

Indeed.

However, alternatives are on the horizon. For instance, Lute (Learning Using Texts):

Lute is a free, open-source PHP-Apache-MySQL project that is a complete rewrite of the core features of LWT and is basically a stripped-down version of Lingq, which is the company headed by the great polyglot Steve Kaufmann.
–Summarizer

I haven’t tried Lute and maybe it isn’t a LingQ killer. But it won’t be long for one to appear, especially one with AI built-in from the ground-up.

6 Likes

I’m a retired software engineer. I’ve seen very successful software projects with thousands of reported bugs. I’ve never seen bug-free software – it is either a myth, or it happened on a tiny (one-man?) project.

Is LingQ terrible, compared to perfection? Sure. So is every other large software project I’ve ever seen. That is not a fair evaluation. It is not useful to anyone.