Health and language learning

I started learning Japanese when I was an undergrad. Of course we ‘learned’ by using Japanese the Spoken Language by Jordan/Noba. Now Professor Jordan does have a great command of the Japanese language. I give her due for that. But her textbook, an overtly detailed stereo instruction details about the finer points of Japanese grammar, was not to say the best tool for my learning. I got a D in my Japanese Class. It was the first and only time i scored so low in a class, from Jr. High-school through graduate school.

But looking back, there was another reason why I didn’t do so well. My health at that time was not up to par. I wasn’t too concerned about my health either. I was more concerned about passing my next test, going to the next party, and so on. In graduate school, my health slipped down to a new low. I ate a lot of fast food and developed a lot of digestive problems. Even though I was really beginning to study Japanese again (on my own, and my best friend was the new Japanese teacher), I probably wasn’t doing as well as I could have at the time.

Well, moving to Japan and loosing about 40 pounds really did help. My brain was able to remember things better. But one thing that really really helped my learning was when I decided to start running. I began to see real improvements soon after starting.