Greek (griego) pronunciation error

I am a beginner in Greek, but the natives in the audio all seem to palatize κη (soft vowel after kappa making a “chee” sound) but the computer voice does not. It is somewhat disconcerting as this pallatization occurs rather often.
HOWEVER, maybe this is just a dialect and there is no error in the computer voice.

1 Like

I don’t know much about Greek and not sure how it should sound, to be honest. I assume audio version is correct, I trust it more than auto TTS, or maybe it’s just a dialect, yeah. I’ll try to find out.

You’re correct. As a reference, this website is a wonderful detailed reference about Greek pronunciation by a very articulate native speaker, including a lot of info on palatalization, examples, audio samples, discussion of exceptions and more:
https://foundalis.com/lan/grphdetl.htm

Notice that the author considers the k+i = ci [rather than chi] palatalization to be standard. For what I know about Greek dialects, they tend to exaggerate palatalization rather than reduce it. This is a reference:
http://www.enl.auth.gr/staff/topintzi/papers/Tromso-PAL_2014.pdf

So TTS pronunciation seems to be simply unnatural. It probably sounds a bit like what the author of the above website describes:
Anyway, that’s just my two cents, try comparing the pronunciations of the audio source and TTS to the audio samples in the website above to be sure. As I already wrote, I think the latter is a high quality reference for native-like pronunciation of standard Greek.

Thank you so much, I am checking it out now…

Hi shakespeareanbard, as far as I know, this speaker comes from Crete, hence the difference in his pronunciation.
I had two problems with his tracks: 1) the “ch” instead of “k” (not difficult to deal with because I had started learning Greek from another source), 2) his attitude. He sounds so sad! Didn’t enjoy listening to him. But he was the first to produce these lessons so it would be unfair to replace them.