Going to Vienna - wish me luck!

Starting next Wednesday, I will spend ten days in Vienna (with two days in Budapest thrown in) completely on my own. I have been learning German (apparently) for about six or seven months, mostly with a private tutor. This will be my first trip to a German-speaking country, as well as my first attempt to use one of the languages I’m learning in the actual country with actual native speakers. I will not try to sound tough: I am downright nervous. I find German to be difficult, but I am definitely making progress. When my tutor speaks to me, she speaks fast and I’m able to keep up with listening (I get about 60% most times, sometimes more, sometimes less), though my speaking needs work. I am gobbling up as many words as I can.

I’ve done as much as I can until now. It’s time to throw myself into the pool and try to swim a little. It won’t help that I’ve been learning Hochdeutsch and that the Viennese speak a more Austrian German, but hey, the world’s imperfect. I have a feeling that I’m going to learn a whole lot on this trip, especially since I’ll be traveling alone and I can focus on acquiring vocabulary and getting a feel for Austrian culture and language.

Wish me luck! Any tips?

Good luck, Robert!
I was in your situation a couple of years ago when I traveled to Munich. I had much less German than you, my German conversations were very basic to say the least, but I had a great time anyway.
Tips? Yes.

1. Relax.
  2. Have a good time.
  3. Don’t expect to understand everything because you won’t.
  4. Don’t beat yourself up when you don’t understand everything.
  5. Have a good time.

Don, that’s exactly what I needed to hear! I should check my expectations at the door and just be pleased with the level of German I am at currently.

I should add that, like Steve’s trip to Prague, I am hoping that this 10-day immersion will activate at least some of my passive German.

Viel Spaß in Wien! Es soll eine tolle Stadt sein.

Danke!