French Speaking Practice - How to Best Use Your Time With Language Partners?

Hi everyone! So I have been learning French for about 3 months now and have found that my speaking is relatively weak because I never really practiced it. Thus, I think it is about time that I start practicing the speaking. I know Steve always says that you’ll know when you want to start speaking and producing output! For me, I think now’s the time!

I just wanted to know how you guys typically use the time you speak to your language partners the best and most efficiently. I mean, I would imagine that simply talking about where you are from and what you like to do do, etc improves how you introduce yourself in the language, but, for example, we don’t always use conditional tense when we speak about other subjects. Do you guys typically have a plan set for what you want to talk about with the other person?

How do you hit all the essential tenses and sentence structures when you practice speaking? With a teacher, it’s pretty easy since they are basically there to help you improve whatever you need, but I feel like talking to another learner that is learning your native language might be a little different. Either way, I really want to get to conversationally comfortable level (B2?) in all languages that I learn, but granted French is the first language that I’m actually trying to be fluent in, I am pretty new to how this is done.

Would love some tips from the community! For example, how to actually improve in conversation by speaking to natives, how to hit essential speech and grammar constructions and tenses when practicing speaking without having the conversation be non-spontaneous, how often one should practice with a native speaker, what’s the best method to reflect and improve from previous conversations in subsequent conversations, what to actually talk about (I am not the best conversationalist in English even…), etc.