Do you struggle with numbers in "difficult" languages? I still do in Chinese after 4 years

I have been studying Chinese on and off for 4 years now. However, numbers are still killing me. When I listen to Chinese content and dates, fractions, percentages or large numbers are mentioned, my brain still goes blank. Can anyone relate (e.g. in languages unrelated to your mother tongue).

I know my mother stil counts and adds numbers in Finnish even though she has been living in Germany for 40+ years and her German is, in general, better than her Finnish…

Any tips?

3 Likes

Iso mies!

suurkiitos sun kysymyksestä!

I struggled with the spoken version of the Finnish number system for a while. I suppose you just get used to it. Exactly the same with years, how many times have i heard ‘tuhatyheksänsataa…’ tai kakstuhattaakakskyt… I’m sure I would struggle if someone started spitting random numbers at me extremely quickly, but it’s just a matter of time right?

Yes! I’ve noticed the same thing and I find it really interesting. My mind also tends to skirt right over numbers without processing them in the same way it does other words. It’s like the number system is a very particular form of domain specific knowledge and if you haven’t learned math in your target language you don’t have the internal structures required to process them on the fly.

I have no tips because I have not solved the problem. At this point it’s not important enough to me to try to clean up, but I have thought in passing, at times, about getting elementary level math materials in my target language and working them over, forcing myself to only think in the target language.

2 Likes

Yes!

The linguistic ”unit” being 10,000 in Japanese instead of 1,000 like in English took me quite some time to get used to, and to be truthful the systems basically exist separately in my head. What is 1億?It’s 10,000万, but if someone were to ask the number in English I might have to resort to counting zeros. :slight_smile: