Do you mark words as known even though you don't know the kanji?

Hi,

I’m new to the program and I’m not sure what to do with words I know very well though I never learned the kanji for them. Should they be considered a new word? I’m just wondering if it’s more beneficial to prioritize mastering both the word and kanji before it’s considered a known word or to focus on comprehension and let kanji recognition eventually come on it’s own? I’m curious to know what others have done/are doing.
Thanks!

1 Like

for Chinese, I only consider a word to be known, when I can also write the characters. (i.e. write by hand, not using pinyin keyboard)

2 Likes

While I’ve been using LingQ for French for a few years, a few months ago started using it daily too to refresh my old B1ish level understanding of Japanese. Back in the day, I could read about 1,000 kanji.

I still kinda have this question myself about how to use LingQ effectively with Japanese.

First, I’d say that LingQ isn’t really designed to help learn kanji. If it was, it would help track kanji known as robustly as it tracked words known. For instance, what if LingQ visualized words known, as it does, with the background colorization, but also employed colorized underlining of unknown and partially known individual kanji at the character level? What if LingQ provided the user the ability to click on individual kanji to then see the kanji’s on and kun yomi, the meanings, the stroke count, the radical used for dictionary ordering, the composite radicals more loosely definied, an animation with stroke order, etc. [even as other software has done for 20 years]? The LingQ design team simply hasn’t prioritized such as this. With Steve’s personal language background, this kind of surprises me.

All this being said, I suspect the best practice is to mark the word known when all its kanji are known, with at least the meaning and on/kun yomis as used in the given word.