Character Limit for Creating Definitions/Splitting up definitions

Can we have some indicator of how much text we can enter as a definition for a LingQ? For example, on Twitter, you can see a circle filling up as you approach the character limit, or when you send a mobile SMS text message, you can see how many characters you are using with a number, for example 35/160.

The only reason I figured out that the character limit for LingQs is 250 is because I am a developer by trade and I wanted to see the reason why my definitions were not being added. It was very annoying to repeatedly try to enter my definition. I think it is not very user friendly for someone to not see their definitions being added with little cues or explanations.

A similar suggestion I have, is that multiple definitions are created and added to that user’s LingQs when the character limit is reached for one part of the definition, and with that some indication that the definition is a continuation of some other definition. Bonus points for the suggestion (for lack of better words) is if we can tell if all such combined definitions are actually a part of a single definition.

Existing community definitions can sometimes be messy to navigate when someone has manually split up their definitions by using textual indicators such as (cont. )

Another aside about creating definitions is that on mobile, I cannot add line breaks to the definitions.

4 Likes

Are you sure that adding your own definitions is a good use of time when they’re already there by clicking through to SpanishDict or whatever if you really need it?

Clicking through to a dictionary can give you a very long dictionary entry and doesn’t really change what I am getting at. I don’t always create definitions, but recently I have been creating some for reasons that is kind of a different topic.