Best use of dead time for beginners

I am new to language learning(20 days now). I am wondering what
is the best use of dead-time for beginner. Is it worth listening to those CD
based learning tools. At the moment I am listening to Micheal Thomas on
CD. I don’t bother to stop the tape. I just use it for vocabulary building. I also
listen to Teach Yourself Spanish. I never use the books or concentrate on the
material. I would love to use audiobooks but I am not advanced enough for that.

I think that listening again and again lessons you have studied before is a good way to spend dead-time.

1 Like

It isn’t particularly exciting, but spamming listening to beginner audio lessons isn’t a bad idea.

I would say for the first month of german, I just kept listening to same lessons of “who is she” over and over and over again. download it or stream in on your phone and put it on repeat. Just keep. listened to a single 1 minute lesson

Listening to advanced material in the beginning isn’t totally useless because it will acclimate your brain to the sounds and timbre of the new language, even if you don’t understand any of the words. Listen to the different and new sounds and the color of the language. Luckily you are studying spanish, so I recommend finding a show or podcast with the voice of an attractive spanish voice.

It takes a little while before you can kind of listen to non beginner stuff and actually understand some of it, like maybe 2 months depending on how often you are studying, but remember just constantly exposing yourself to language is the biggest thing.

1 Like

thanks very much

because i can’t use my phone or tablet while i drive:

1. i put a mix of Spanish language artists (mostly from mexico and Colombia) and i try to listen or sing along. I printed the lyrics but I rarely refer to them.