Beginner Questions

Just a questions. i’m a lingQ.com beginner.

my questions is about tracking your own progress.

at the moment i’m listening to audio stories and getting practice with hearing the words and how they are pronounced.

each story/conversation is broken up into multiple parts.

but do i need to “memorize” each word in my vocab and totally understand the conversation pience before i move on to the next part?

i like the system. but i’m just alittle lost as to how do i track my comprehension progress.

Hey,
I’m no expert, but I’d say if you can mostly catch 70-80% of what you hear when you read along with a single piece, then don’t worry about remembering every single bit. Move on to the next, and some of the words you can’t remember will be in the next part. You’ll hear them in a new context and start to recall them more.

Can I ask, if you are an English native, learning German, then this period of getting used to the new language won’t be so steep.

yes, i’m an english native learning German. i figured that.

that i what i notice, i’m hearing the same words used in a diff. context.

Ha,

Then carry on as you are. It’s going to sink in. See how you feel in a month’s time : )

Question.

1.So i listen to the story/dialogue - througout the day repeatedly

2.Review the vocab flash cards

3.and type up what i heard and submit it? or do i create my own story?

4.Where does the tutor come in?

Here is what I do and what I recommend.

1. Listen to the lesson once. You may only understand a little if you are a complete beginner.
    You may even want to listen while reading the English translation.

2. Then read the lesson, saving any words that you do not know. You should now have a better sense of what it is about.

3. Download the lesson and listen a few times.

4. Review the vocab items and read the lesson again.

5. Listen a few more times and then go on to the next lesson and do the same again.