B2 by Christmas

I’ve been studying Czech for a couple of years now, but with limited success, maybe approaching B1 level… I can speak ok but still find it hard to understand what locals are saying.

Anyway, I’ve set myself a challenge, to be ‘fluent’ (i use the word very losely) by Chriistmas. I’m saying a level where I can understand and hold conversations at ease, a solid B2.

Since the beginning of October I’ve stopped speaking English, just Czech. My family are Czech so this helps. I just wondering if anyone else has tried this type of thing and how they got on. Is my goal realistic?

And does anyone have any specific tips on improving my ear for understanding?

“Since the beginning of October I’ve stopped speaking English, just Czech.”

…which is really good :slight_smile:

“I’ve set myself a challenge, to be ‘fluent’ (i use the word very losely) by Chriistmas […]Is my goal realistic?”

I guess I can´t answer your question, but I have a question about your goal. ^^
Is there a specific reason why you want to fluent by christmas, or do you just want to get better?

Words like “Fluent”, “B2” and “being able to have a conversation” are hardly measurable and it´s basically you who decides whether you´ve “failed” or not. I´ve stopped setting goals like that because I always decided that I´ve “failed”.^^
Nowadays, I set goals like “listen to 25 hours of French this week”. That´s measurable, and even if I listen for “only” 20 hours, that´s not a “failure”, it´s “80% success”.

Maybe it would be better to choose a goal like that? What do you think?

1 Like

Cheers Paule

I’ve just had a job interview for a bank, it a really good position but they require B2 level Czech. I would be leading a team which includes none English speakers and would have to deliver some training in Czech. If they accepted me I would finish off the project I’m working on (part time) and start in January. This is why my goal is to reach this level of competence.