Automatic download of mp3

It would save data transfer if we do not automatically download audio file each time we visit a lesson. Once we have the file in our ipod we do not need to download it again.

Good point

I must say I do not understand the point. (I am not technical). I only download my sound file once, into iTunes. Then I access it from iTunes when I want to listen to it, again and again. Are there people who download from the lesson each time?

Pierre means that when you open a Lesson the flash player appears at the bottom and downloads the audio automatically. If the on-screen flash player were optional, then you save a lot of data transfer because most people download the audio to their computer and therefore don’t need the flash player.

What this means as far as bandwidth savings etc I don’t have a clue.

Ah ha! I will ask Mark on his return. Thanks Pierre and Ed.

I checked it a couple of times and it works fine on my computer. The file is only downloaded by the flash player after you click “play” not when the page loads.

oops…

I am not sure about your point TasXsit. The audio file is not run before you click but it does not mean the file is not loaded. If I am right and you do not click on play - this download is very unnecessary.

I am pretty sure TasXsit is correct on this. Note the progress bar and rising percentage indicator when you click play on the flash player. As well, my cache folder only contains the download after I press play, and not just after I open the lesson.

Maybe. What the flash player displays is not an evidence of how it works with the file.

To be sure we have to test with big file and slow internet. And with lesson you have not yet use because your browser probably use cache meaning if the file was recently downloaded - it will probably not be downloaded a second time All the trouble being in the probably.