Another method of familiarization for my language learning

I am a geek, unashamedly. Even though I am a real beginner in Italian, I have something I would really like to do: I’d like to change the interface of my computer and iPhone to Italian. I know what each of the menus and submenus are, so I’d love to see what things are called in Italian. It’s not an irreversible step, and it follows the dictum, “If it’s important to you, use it in your language learning.”

Also, I would like to pick up an Italian tabloid mag from our local news store; could I read even one article? Of course not. But the ads! And would teach me some of the culture (well, about as much as American advertising teaches about our culture…) Still, makes me feel closer to the language. For reading, of course.

I don’t see a downside to this, but I’m not an experienced language learner.

Listening daily on my iPhone. Good stuff.

Ciao,
Marco

I upgraded my mac o.s. recently and changed the interface to french. Because I already know more or less where things are it’s easy, like you say. Go on, I definitely recomend it!

Some people have said here before that changing the OS only brings a short-term benefit, as it is a limited vocabulary. But go for whatever tickles your fancy - I buy shedloads of books and magazines wherever I go and am still hoping for osmosis to take place.

I did this once to facilitate my learning of Swedish. Guess what? No go.

Reason #1: Mac OS is very shortcut driven. This is a great advantage it has over other OSes in every aspect, except language learning. I know all my shortcuts. Those that I don’t, are intuitive enough to figure out. So I rarely see the menus.

Reason #2: It’s really frustrating when you need to get something and you cannot figure out an alert message. Granted, this happens very rarely, but when it does, it can drive you nuts.