A truly terrifying thought!

Steve,

what would you say if I were to tell you that your free will is just an illusion? To me this is one of the scariest thoughts I have had in years. I am a scientist and have a materialistic view of the universe. If we are biological machines (which I believe we are), our constituent parts, the molecules, atoms and subatomic particles follow the laws of physics. Our cognitive functions including our consciousness and decision making processes in our brain would be entirely deterministic and free will would be an illusion. In fact there are scientific studies that point in that direction. In these studies subjects had to select different tasks while the scientists tracked the underlying neurological processes of their decision making. The interesting finding was that the „neurological decision“ was made before the conscious decision (the subjects had to report when they decided which task to perform).

If free will is an illusion, there is no guilt, no merit, no real control over one’s own life, to me an utterly terrifying concept. Every time we decide to become a better person, to lose weight, to learn a language, the outcome would already be predetermined. Every moment of achievement, every little yes-we-can moment in life but also every failure and defeat would just be a predetermined manifestation of the laws of physics. While this is terrifying, since I am a scientist, I cannot really dismiss this idea even if I don’t like it.

Stop talking about this immediately! The illusion of control is the only thing keeping the masses happy!

Rohr-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VxQuPBX1_U

My freewill disappeared when I said “I do”.

Now I mostly tell my wife… “Yes ma’am”

antimatter, stick it to the man.

Sounds about right to me.