A question about ALG

“‘[S]peaking’ in the early stages might damage the student’s ability.” alg history http://www.algworld.com/history.php http://bit.ly/eBx5Hl

Why do they think that speaking in the early stages of learning a foreign language might damage our ability? Why should we be so stoical?

Even I do not buy that. I think we should do what we want to do. How do you prevent people from speaking if they want to? I just think that the pressure to speak early is not needed nor helpful.

I think that what Steve said “I think we should do what we want to do.” is true.

As for me, I started studying Chinese with native speaker on Skype. Actually she speaks Japanese, so it is no problem to continue to learn with her.

The pressure to speak early is not needed nor helpful.

I think it is not true. It depends on tutors. If we meet a good tutor, it is possible to start to speak a little with him ore her. Actually, I enjoy the pressure.

In my view, speaking’ little by little in the early stages is one solution to learn a foreign language naturally (in a real situation).

Sorry, I made a mistake. In my comment, I wanted to say “a good tutor means one who has capacity to manage to have learners speak a little even if they are beginners” but it might not be helpful to speak in the early stages with native speakers who has no experience to teach foreign languages.

who has–>>who have

The ALG program does not focus on speaking, until words occur on their own. If you don’t understand target language properly, early speaking creates built-in mistakes. That’s my own experience. I try not to speak and listen and read a lot. I just talk to my boss,who is from Germany, from time to time. (Me: Would you like coffee? He: Yes, quickly please. Me: Yes boss.) :))

Correction: I try not to speak but I listen and read a lot.