A 90 Day French Challenge?

Hi LingQ community.

I have been learning Spanish for a good year or so on LingQ and I am getting fairly bored of it, and am kind of wanting to start a new language (probably French). My question is: with a 90 day challenge in French working 2-3 hours a day with my knowledge of Spanish (B2), what level could I possibly get to? I am a complete beginner in French and know next to nothing in the language except what carries over from English and Spanish.

My prediction is that I could make fairly substantial progress doing that much LingQing a day and I think I could make it to high B1 in those 3 months and hopefully have some meaningful conversations with my friends that speak French.

Thanks!

If you study 2-3 hours a day, 7 days a week for 90 days, that’s 180-270 hours in total.

Alliance Française states students can expect to reach CEFR levels after the following cumulative hours of instruction: A1 60–100, A2 160–200, B1 360–400, B2 560–650, C1 810–950, C2 1060–1200.

This is a rough guide to give you an idea of what it requires. Usually to get to a B1 level in French, you’d need 300+ hours.

1 Like

You already know some Spanish which is very helpful! What level would you say you are at after a year’s study? Can you estimate roughly how many hours you spent studying this language?

Well, if you speak everyday via voice/writing with your friends in French, I believe you could. I know that when I started to learn French (my first foreign language), it took me 6 months before I was able to “type” a meaningful conversation. It took me another year or so before I could even try to do that speaking.

Listening in French is very difficult, so I would suggest you make that your main focus.

Reading will be slightly more easy for you, since a lot of the roots of words are similar.

Anyway, I believe you could achieve a B1 working a few hours a day.

Good luck. Bonne chance !

It’s doable!