Why did you choose the language you are learning

Why did you choose the language you are learning

I am curious about your decisions.

Usually we choose language because of the job, travel or also live neer to a border of another nations. Or just for fun.

So, in Europe, thought, everybody want to speak english - international language.

For example I live on Western side of Poland and normally we learn German. High quantity of company from that country cooperate in Poland. If you want to get better job, you should speak german.

But, I have seen on LingQ that people - majority of them - from USA choose French and Russisch.

I am really interested of that subject.

I started learning Russian out of love of how the language sounds, as well as it being similar to Bulgarian (my native language) being a bonus.

6 months later, many hours of playing the Witcher 3 in Russian and talking with a friend from St. Petersburg, I have a good understanding, feel and can-survive-comfortably-in-Russia level in the language.

Then I started with German, because there was no Russian language course at my university. Oh, well - but German is very interesting as well. I find German history the most fascinating out of all countries and would love to read about it in more detail in the native language.

I can tell you about a decision for a future language I will learn, after I am comfortable with German (to a higher degree than in Russian): Turkish. A lot of my relatives are, so that is a no-brainer!

When I was a kid my older sister’s friend who was learning the language left behind at our house a paperback book of Russian folk tales with parallel Russian and English texts. I was enamored by the strange letters on the Russian pages and the exotic stories on the English pages. It so happened that the high school that I entered a few years later offered Russian, so that’s what I chose for a foreign language. That was a long time ago, but I’ve maintained the interest.