Which portable device for LingQ

I have been using LingQ almost exclusively on a high-end Windows laptop. I also have it installed on my Samsung S10, but find the little screen to be limited for my fat fingers and old eyes. I am thinking of buying a second device for web surfing, email reading, and language learning while travelling, so that I can leave my rather expensive laptop at home.
Among the devices I’m considering are an Amazon Fire 10, an iPad or iPad Air, a Chromebook, and an inexpensive Windows tablet. I already have a nice portable bluetooth keyboard.
What device(s) would you find best suited for LingQ?

1 Like

I think iPads are always the way to go. I have had some experience with older Amazon Fires and it always felt a little slow. but with todays technology you probably couldn’t go wrong with any of these devices.

2 Likes

I use an iPad and I am very happy with it. But I cannot say anything about the other devices you mentioned.

2 Likes

I am having the same thoughts at the moment as well. I’m thinking of buying an ipad mini basically for use with LingQ and watching Netflix in foreign languages.

The ipad mini is more expensive than the entry level ipad is now but I just like the idea of being able to hold the mini in one hand, it taking up less space and being able to slip it into the front pocket of the hoodie I wear whilst getting the bus and stuff. I don’t think I would lose any functionality going with the mini as I probably won’t be doing much typing/using an apple pencil.

I’m also gonna look at the Amazon device, it’s appealing cause it’s so much cheaper, but I reckon I’ll get so many productive hours out of Netflix and LingQ that it’ll justify the price difference to have a real nice display/operating system etc.

1 Like

I just use a cheap Android tablet and it works great.