When to visit a country whose official language is one that you're studying

Hello all,

I’m wondering if any of you can offer me some advice on this subject. I’m currently studying German and French and would like to visit the two countries, even if for a week or two each. I’ve heard and read before that being at an intermediate level (note: I’m currently a beginner with both of them) is the time when it’s best to visit the country. Otherwise, it’s a waste of time. However, I’ve also read of people visiting the country and writing down all the new words they see, interacting with the people (or at least listening in), and benefitting from the immersion experience. I’m also studying Mandarin, but I plan on visiting China next year when I feel more comfortable with it, for it is quite different from English.

With Arabic, I plan on going to Damascus, Syria this summer then Alexandria, Egypt for fall and spring semester to increase my mastery of the language, but this is one where I feel totally comfortable speaking it only without English (my native language). It seems to fit that whole “wait until you’re intermediate” paradigm.

Any ideas on how to benefit the most? I just can’t seem to wait to visit a country that speaks that language that I’ve been studying almost in a bubble, i.e., it’s not in the street signs or spoken by restauarants, etc.

You are an ambitious learner.