What makes you enjoy learning languages?

For me, it is the windows in a new world, an opportunity to understand human nature deeper, the feeling of closeness to another human being, new confidence that comes with mastering a new skill, flow that I get into,…

15 Likes

I think I get the most enjoyment from learning languages by watching TV series and movies and not to have to rely on subtitles. For example I used to watch Cuentame (como pasó) which is a drama about a Spanish family living through the last years of Franco’s dictatorship and the time since. It did jump the shark some years back but the the show was good up until the events of 1982.

When I started learning Spanish I used to watch it on TV here in Finland with subtitles in Finnish and enjoyed it immensely. I later discovered that I can watch the series on RTVE’s (sort of Spanish equivalent to BBC) own website with Spanish subtitles.

This is great because I don’t really like the newer episodes and in Finland they only show newer episodes at the moment as far as I know. So there is a clear pay off for my efforts which I find quite rewarding.

I also like the feeling that I get when I learn grammar of a new language. I get really nostalgic for some reason when I start to learn conjugation patterns in a new language such as Catalan. It reminds me of a time when the world was my oyster and it was a simpler times.

Mais oú sont les neiges d’antan😔.

8 Likes

yeah . it is right. it is too fascinating to know new world . to do something that make me happy when i see i can understand a passage in another language

3 Likes

The enjoyment often comes from improvement. Finding how you are starting to be able read texts and get what they say, listening to audio / watching videos and all of a sudden being able to follow what is being discussed. Those moments make it seem worth it.

4 Likes