Web Beta now open!

You should all now have access to the web beta. You can access it by going to https://beta.lingq.com/. It is live and connected to your real account data like the mobile betas. Most functionality should be working.

Please let us know of any issues and steps to reproduce, browser, browser version and any other helpful data. Look forward to your feedback!

Please post comments, issues and feedback here.

7 Likes

First problem: Switch to sentence view and there is no button to translate the entire sentence. Was this intentional or a bug? I hope this gets fixed. I use this quite a bit on new languages. I may have to go back to the current version until this is fixed since I am now studying a new language.

#2: Default to “Courses” instead of “Lessons”. In fact I would prefer to immediately go to “View All Continuing Study Courses” as that is where I begin every day. Only when I am looking for something new would I want to go the the current default opening page, but even then I would prefer eveything starts with “Courses” rather than “Lessons”. Maybe this could be an option under “Settings”.

Ahh…yes, that relates to the update. It’s a long story but we have updated the lesson editor and the way lessons are now generated. This means lessons from v4 need to be converted to v5 before some of the functionality will work. That is the case for sentence translations. You could try converting that lesson if you are a Premium member or it is your own lesson. You will see that when you try to edit it, it will convert it to v5. Most lessons, remain as v4 lessons for now. No problem to convert lessons as you use them. We will convert them all eventually.

It appears that one must “convert” each lesson and not an entire “course”. Since most of mine are books, I can’t see to convert the entire “course”. In fact, there doesn’t appear any way to “edit” a course or even delete a course (a book I had uploaded and never shared).

We may eventually remember your last selected tab there. Thanks. I would think it unlikely that we would have a setting to choose the View All Courses page as your default. An option like this is not that easy to explain to new users and would most likely just confuse most and it is very quick to open the page and choose to View All.

Yes, there is no convert course option. As I said, in the long run, we will automatically convert all. Just convert the lessons you are working on. You should be able to see an Edit Course option in the menu when viewing the course popup. On the course page, there is a delete option.

Thanks. I found it now. I jumped to a conclusion too soon. But thanks for the speedy response.

I had some French books I had uploaded and deleted. They do not appear in the current web or android version. But a couple still show up in the beta (both android and web). I want to delete them - but before I do I want to ask what happens to them. I had assumed that by deleting they would be removed entirely from the database - to help free up space. But now I wonder if they are only tagged as deleted. If it doesn’t help free up space on the database maybe I won’t be so concerned about quickly deleting books that I had previously read.

Beside a lesson there is a green + sign. No explanation what that is, so I thought I would test it out to see what it does and it deleted the lesson (one I had uploaded myself). Maybe it should have a minus sign instead of a plus sign. No popup when you hover over it to explain what it is for. So now I deleted something I really didn’t want to delete.

Big thumbs up for “translation lesson” Option.

Hi Asad, Can you tell me where the “translation lesson” is located? I believe I saw that a while back on one of the drop down menus, but now that I am looking for it, I can’t find it.

You open a lesson and inside it you see …(drop down menu there is).

I open a lesson and upper right corner I see: Lesson Info, View Course, Edit Lesson, Download Audio, Statistics, Quick Start, Reader Setting.

But no “Translation Lesson”. I am sure I saw it once but I see it no longer. Maybe a bug?

  1. In old version when you are reading a lesson at top you see: (1) the name of the course, (2) the name of the lesson and (3) the blue word count. I miss having these 3 pieces of information. Please add them.

  2. In both the new and old versions if you complete a lesson it will automatically add blue words as known words. I can’t see an option to stop this from happening. I don’t want any word automatically changed as I want to review every blue word. Thus in the new version when the blue word count does not show you don’t know that you have reviewed every blue word before clicking the last page to complete the lesson. Please add the blue word cound AND an option to NOT automatically turn blue words as known.

The only bug I’ve encountered so far is as follows:

From the “Continue Studying” section, selecting the “Courses” filter, clicking on a course, hovering over the “More” button (three dots), and then “View Course”, this page has no ability to scroll. This is on Microsoft Edge 93.0.961.52 on Windows.

My first impression is all good - I love the consistent theme between the mobile and web app, and the design as a whole for LingQ 5.0 is an awesome upgrade. I’m really looking forward to the full release of it!

I usually import novels to LingQ and since most are copyrighted I do not share them. But in both the new and old versions clicking on the “. . .” it says "Shared by: ". Once I was concerned that I had accidentally shared them, so edited the course and see that the “status” is not filled with either “Share” or “Unshare”. It is hard for me to tell if they did get shared or if it is only visible to me. Somehow I think the label should not say “Shared by:” if I didn’t share it. Maybe "Private for: "

In the new web beta I don’t even see an option where you indicate that the course is not to be shared. All I see is stuff about selling the lesson.

On two different courses (in course view) - both are about 50% complete. But the green progress bar on one indicates 0% complete and on the other 100% complete. On a third one that is 100% complete the progress bar shows 0%.

I have looked at several lessons and now I find the “translate lesson” in some lessons. However, clicking that option does nothing. I get no translation. Nothing.

Actually, it works for the Mini Stories but not for stuff I uploaded myself, even if it was converted to ver 5…

Deleted imports are removed from the database and do free up space.

Yes, if there is a Full Translation it will show when you choose that option. For v4 lessons this will not work. They will need to be converted. The translations show under the text in-line and not in a separate window anymore.