Using Audacity to help with a lesson

I have recently found a tactic to help with recordings that seem overwhelmingly fast. With Audacity (free program) its is possible to introduce gaps between the phrases which gives the brain a little time to catch up. If I know most of the words it seems to work for me.

If I make the gaps longer, or pause it, then I can repeat the phrase, trying to imitate the speakers intonation. It takes quite a few listenings and attempts, but I find it interesting (i think others would hate it!). It is about linking subtle muscular movements with whqt we hear

I have tried really focussing on the details and expression of the speaker (pitch, louds and softs, how the phonemes join up etc), and I think I am gradually getting close (this is in Portuguese, a newish language for me)r. The native speakers really sound different, which makes it a fun exercise.

I should say that I am a musician , and this kind of active listening is maybe a bit like how I would listen to myself , or a student, or a player I would lke to emulate. Ultimently we think of a soud and the muscles somehow do it, but it needs a lot of listeng and experimenting with tiny muscle movements before that happens.

Does this make sense, and do others use similar methods, either consciously or unconciously

Yes, your methods make a lot of sense. To me, listening to a difficult passage in another language is a lot like memorizing the words and music of a new song.

I also use Audacity to introduce gaps in recordings that I have a hard time understanding. Usually I introduce a gap every minute or so that I can loop that little bit of the recording until I understand it. However, I do not repeat out loud what I hear, though I might start doing that at a later time.