Translation Assistance

Nach Feierabend, also nach der Arbeit dort, übt er dann noch Landwirtschaft aus.

What is the correct English translation of the sentence above, thx.

Where did you get this from? That sentence is redundant redundant and awkward and doesn´t make sense and sounds weird and doesn´t make sense.^^

Translation: After work, well after work is over, he exerts agriculture.

I’m not good at translating into English. Like Paule I think there is a lot of redundancy.

An attempt of a quite literal (but maybe not good translation):
After finishing time, well after the work there, he then carries out farming in addition.

I remember my grandfather had a regular job in a factory, and in the afternoons he worked on his fields too. We called this “Nebenerwerbslandwirtschaft”

From VT #016, Stadt und Land one of your old stories Vera…sorry…
Here is a bit more…
Ein Nebenerwerbslandwirt hat einen festen Arbeitsplatz in einem Unternehmen. Nach Feierabend, also nach der Arbeit dort, übt er dann noch Landwirtschaft aus. Das war in unserer Gegend früher üblich, weil in unserer Region der Ertrag der Landwirtschaft nicht ausreichte, um das Überleben zu sichern.

The word “Nebenerwerblandwirt” isn’t so easy to translate - maybe it is vaguely like a kind of “part time smallholder”? If so my understanding of the text would be:

(…) A “part time smallholder” has a regular job with a company. After work (that is, after hours at the company) he then practises agriculture. In earlier times this was quite usual in our region, because it wasn’t possible to live from agriculture alone (…)

There are, of course, different ways of expressing this. One could equally well say: “…after finishing time at the company, he practises agriculture…etc…”

Thanks for the help force_de_frappe. Nice work.

Paul and Vera,

Are you both really saying that there is a lot of redundancy in the sentence being translated into English?