The Dutch and French speaking Belgians

Is it possible, that the French and Dutch speaking Belgians bear any grudge towards each other?

But maybe the situation has changed in the course of time?!

Hmmmm, that’s a hard question. There are some difficulties in our country, one of them is Brussels (especially the linguistic situation of the city). It’s too complex to explain it here, and I’m not an expert on this theme. However it is true that a lot of flemish people don’t like our french-speaking neighbors, mostly because of how the media portrays them. I do think it’s important to see beyond the stereotypes, and take advantage of this exceptional linguistic situation, which is why I would like to do my master degree in either Brussels or Liège, in French obviously.

Content edited

@vincentd Thanks for your response! I admit, that I don’t know much about the history of our Belgian neighbours up to now, but I’m curious to learn more about it. At the moment, I’m focussing on Spanish and therefore I try to learn a bit more about the history and culture of Spain and Latin America. But before long, I intend to start - among others - with your collection “Verfransing van Brussel”. Surely I’ll get to know some facts I didn’t know before about Belgium.

There are difficulties over here, but language is just a small part of the whole thing.

Medias do have a strong responsibility in portraying both communities with very strong words. French speakers are the “lazy asses from the South” and Flemish people are the “selfish nationalists from the North”.
Although some people from both sides might correspond to those images, the vast majority of course do not. Belgium knows quite a typical opposition between linguistic groups as nearly all multilingual nations know. However, the big issue is that since WWII, some serious economic problems got added over the whole thing.