Studying other languages

As I’m studying a couple of languages that aren’t available as options yet here, I was wondering whether it would be worth requesting them so I can start creating vocab databases (and uploading free content that I might be able to find). Or would you recommend I just use an available language that I’m not studying in the meantime, and then maybe transfer the data over if it becomes available in the future?

Hi Chris,

We would hope to add more languages in the not too distant future. You could use the available languages with different languages but there is no current way of switching data from one language to another and we don’t have any plans to do this.

Which languages are you interested in?

Ok, thanks. I’m starting (or attempting, heh) Icelandic and Danish, but unfortunately resources are rather scarce. I’ve found some free Danish audiobooks, but no text, and as far as I know, there’s nothing really available freely for Icelandic. I have found a number of sites that contain audio and text for languages such as Norwegian and Dutch. I could start compiling a list of these sites for the future.

In any case, that answers my question, thanks. I’ll just use Portuguese and something else in the meantime.

Icelandic! Wow! Why not?.. What we should do is allow members to create new languages and start building them up. We’ll talk about this in the new year.

Mandarin?
Hi,
I don[t know if I am doing this correctly, but I posted this in another forum yesterday (and I actually saw it posted), but when I returned today for a response my post was no where to be found, nor was there a response, naturally. So I am posting again.

I really do like the features on lingQ, and they are actually what I have been seeking for my ? self instruction in Mandarin. So I would like to know if you plan to add Mandarin to your programme?

Look forward to seeing your response.
Thank you.
Chichi

Hi chichi,