Reading new texts

There’s something I’ve been wondering lately. I’ve been learning German off and on for about five years now, and there’s thing I do that I think hinders me from progressing on somewhat. Every time I find a new text in German, whether it be a book, an article or whatever, I usually don’t have many problems with understanding the general message of it as long as it’s at a “normal” reading level. However, there are always tons of new words, unfamiliar word usages, idiomatic expressions, etc. I always feel like I have to go through the entire text with pencil in hand, marking up everything that’s new to me. But the thing is, it gets sooooo long, boring and tedious in general that it takes all the fun of learning away. Yet I feel that if I don’t do it, I’m not really learning it (although the words seldom stay with me even if I do).

It’s really bugging me. My question is…well, what’s the best way to read in your new language? Should I mark everything up? How many times should I read it? Sorry that this question is long, but I reaaaally am tired of all this…

Thanks in advance!

I used to read interesting things. I’m studying English, so I always search sites and books about my favourite topics, and I try read it. I do it everytime coz I need to improve my English urgently. I search books than I’ve read for to read in my new language. For exemple, now I’m reading Little Prince, coz I’ve read this book in my mother tongue many times.

Good lucky :slight_smile:

Hi Herr Kommissar,

The most important thing is to enjoy the language that you are learning, and the process of learning itself! Otherwise you’ll fail.

What I do is to read a lot without noting something and without looking up anything in a dictionary. I only read and enjoy the book. If I don’t understand a word or a phrase, it doesn’t matter.