Over LingQ'ing just to make Top Performer Lists

My LingQs are much higher than my Known Words count. I prefer to read and listen a lot so I am always accumulating new LingQs. My “Known Word” count on the other hand really isn’t that high because I am more conservative in marking a word as known, as I prefer to flash card new words multiple times and prefer to see new words be used in multiple contexts before I change them from yellow to white. I think people learn and use the system in different ways.

You are right about beginning a new language. I am just getting started in Russian and I have 120 known words and almost 1000 LingQs. I suspect when I have 1000 known words, I will have many more than 5000 LingQs.

I have 18,500 known words in German, and 19,000 LingQs. I only ever set LingQs to known when I come across them in a text, understand them, and am pretty sure I will understand them next time I see them. This is relatively rare, so I have only ever set 2020 LingQs to known.

I don’t know about anybody else, but I have never made LingQs just to make the leader board. I hope this information is useful.

@Kimojima
Did you start using lingQ already relatively familiar with your target language? I had studied French for a rather long time before I started here, so I know most of the words I come across. I don’t make lingqs very often.

Those who are starting on a blank slate in a language will, as would be inherent, have to lingq everything. It can’t be expected that 100 percent of these lingqs will get learned… perhaps ever!

@kimojima - Thanks for your feedback on this. As some others have mentioned, people will use the site very differently. I know that in my case I don’t spend much time moving LingQs to Status 4, but instead just work my way through content and save any new words that I don’t know. Those who move their LingQs to Status 4 are actually rewarded for doing so, as each Learned LingQ also counts as 1 in the Activity Score calculation.