Need advice on how long to spend with dialogs

Hello Everyone,

Please advise on how long to spend on a dialog and how often to review. I have never figured out how to do this properly. I think I end up reviewing way too many times and I end up getting bored out of my mind. It is not uncommon for me to listen to something 50+ times.

Currently, I am studying a series in Russian for moving to St. Petersburg. There are 5 dialogs in the series totaling a little over 40 minutes. I have listened to each between 5-10 times. I can understand 80%+ although there are some parts that completely confuse me. There are about 5-8% of words that I don’t know immediately on site.

In such a situation, do you simply move on to something else or do you keep reviewing until you have a better understanding. I want to move on because I am bored listening to them but I don’t want to make a fatal mistake of moving on and failing to commit to long-term memory and thus waste the time I have already spent.

Thanks
David

Based on the advice I’ve gleaned from Steve’s YouTube videos and my own experience, if you’re bored you should move on. Expose yourself to more of the language and eventually if you want to come back to these you should be able to pick up more than just cramming it in.

It sounds like you’re more advanced than I am in your progress with your language learning but I’ve found it’s less important to “finish” an individual lesson, and more productive to push on and find something new.