Mastering a language

I know that this topic has been touched many times across this forum and many others but I’d like to start this thread because I’m looking for some advice and practical things I can do.

I’ve been learning Dutch for a little under three years now. As the first language I’ve studied in which I’ve made good progress, it’s really satisfying when I can read and listen to most things things effortlessly and finally, that I am able to speak at a high enough level where I can get my ideas across most of the time. I’ve only done around 18 hours of speaking, so I know that I’ve got a lot more room for improvement in this aspect of the language, but I’m more than willing to make that effort.

Now, I would like to move the language to a whole new level. I would like to develop a much greater precision so that I can use it in a professional setting. I still listen and read, learning new words and idioms, but I don’t feel like I’m progressing much any more.

What should I do to really develop a near-native ability in the language? What have others done to achieve the same? I’m not able to go to the country because of a lack of funds but I do know that that would be most helpful. Should I, at this stage, do a thorough grammatical analysis of the language to try and iron out some of my weaknesses? Perhaps books on idioms? Translating?

Thanks for any suggestions.

I’ve watched thousands of hours of Dutch television. That’s not what I’m after. Thanks anyway Vonk.

How much listening have you been doing? I feel listening without visual cues is really helpful and I particularly try to focus on colloquial terms in the languages where I cannot go to the country as they are the ones you mostly miss out on. I have a kind of recording device inside my head that enables me to remember stuff I have heard and spew it out later. What kind of learner are you - right brain or left brain? Auditive, visual etc?