How to use audiobooks/e-texts in LingQ

I’m really not an expert in this area, having just started to import e-texts into LingQ for learning vocabulary, but I’m very pleased that LingQ has this facility. I thought maybe the book-lovers amongst us could put together a list of tips for doing this to help others.

1. The size limit on an imported item is 6 000 words. This is a lot and it is easy to lose your place, as LingQ currently has no bookmarking facility. I suggest you break your e-text down into smaller lessons (e.g. 1 000 words) and import each lesson as a separate item in one collection (name of collection = name of book).

2. You can’t share the book with other LingQ users (unless it is copyright-free). You have to keep it as “private”, i.e. for your personal use only.

3. If the content is not shared, you don’t have to upload the audio. This saves you a job, especially if you don’t have the audio.

4. If you are lucky or have thought hard about this you can get audiobooks which are word-for-word identical to your e-text. Listen to the audiobook, over and over again, on your mp3 player. Pick books you really enjoy and listen until you almost know them off by heart.

5. 1 000 word lessions are roughly equivalent to 7 minutes of audio. This is about right for intermediate 1 / 2 learners. If you are an advanced learner, you may be able to cope with up to 2 000 words or 15 minutes of audio. Since audiobooks are usually split into sections of between 5 and 15 minutes long, you may be able to split your lessons at the same points where your audio files split.

6. Books can easily be more than 30 000 words long. At 1 000 words per lesson this is a lot of lessons from each book. Unless you want to be studying “War and Peace” for the next 3 years, I suggest you stop after 5 chapters. Each author tends to repeat the same vocabulary and phrases, so I figure that after 5 chapters you learn fewer new words per lesson and get more bored.