How often do most of you have a tutor

I was wondering how often do most of you have a tutor in order to advance in your speaking skills? I have been learning french for 3 years now and i can speak in french but i have to think a lot and i am not at conversational level yet or i am somewhat at a beginners level.

2 Likes

I’ve never used a tutor because I see enough Spanish people at work or “around” to Speak with them. However, since I have no friends, I’ve often thought of going the tutor route to talk about other better Topics and really seek to activate my vocabulary. I think I considered this once I hit the 20k word mark and thought about doing it once or twice a week

3 Likes

I meet Russian-speaking people quite regularly and I go to Russia every now and then. Just today I showed some Russian acquaintances around the city., so I haven’t used tutor’s’ services very often. However, I still find it useful to talk with a tutor at some stages of your language learning. I had regular meeting with a Russian tutor for a few months a couple of years ago, when I felt that I needed to work on activating my passive vocabulary.
The decision about when to begin (or end) tutoring is very personal. My advice to you is that if you feel you can speak, even if slowly and with difficulty, and you are interested or curious about French conversation, you should just go and try.
Je vous souhaite du succès

I think once a week is good for getting something in, not getting rusty, and getting some progress. That said, I would think 3-5 hours is a good range where you can get a lot of practice in and make good progress without it taking too much time away from input activities like reading and listening.

1 Like

2-3 times a week + friends

1 Like