How do you approach reading lessons?

I have been using Lingq for more than two years now. I usually read a lesson once, but recently I have taken to reading one lesson over and over again.

I have the feeling that I used to learn a lot more when I ploughed through texts instead of deliberately reading and rereading a text until I know everything in it. On the other hand, I feel more confident when I am reading one text over and over again until I understand a good 80-90% of it. I cannot judge which attitude is more beneficial/effective.

What is your attitude to reading? Are you getting through as many texts as possible, or are you sitting on a text until you understand 80-90% of it? What results have you seen pursuing either approach?

1 Like

Hi, readpathsofglory!

It depends on the language level, but my general recommendation would be:

A1-A2 level:

• Re-reading while listening 3-5 times at a slower pace, i.e. 0.9x or 1.0 x (plus re-listening alone several times later)
  • However, before doing this I´d use some warm up approaches first if the language to be aquired is more distant to my L1 / my other L2s (e.g. learning the 1000-3000 most frequent words using an SRS such as Memrise; Pimsleur; Assimil; a grammar light approach Ă  la Michel Thomas, etc.).

From a B1 level upwards to reach an advanced level (C1 and higher):

Hope that helps
Peter

6 Likes

Hi readpathsofglory. I looked at your stats to see where you’re at, but you have several languages at different levels. French appears to be the one you’re focused on at the moment.