Hello, I have accidentally deleted all my progress here,I was suppose to delete my English progress and instead have deleted over a year of Spanish progress over 13000 words.Is there any way you can restore them …PLEASE HELP
I’m really sorry to hear this! When debating whether or not to add a Delete/Reset button, this was one of the biggest things that held us back - we didn’t want users to accidentally delete their data. However, we had continual requests for this feature, and in the end hoped that it wouldn’t happen, and that users would only use this action when they really wanted to wipe everything for a specific language.
Unfortunately once the data is gone, it’s very complicated to get it back from a backup of the database, meaning several hours of work to recover anything that was accidentally deleted by a user. I wish there was a quick way to roll back, but rolling back to when you accidentally deleted Spanish means the entire site gets rolled back to that time, so any activity that took place between then and now by any user gets erased.
I did check with our development team to see if there was anything that we could do without spending half of a day on this, or without rolling back to erase other users’ activity, but they weren’t able to come up with any solutions here. I’m really sorry about this.
I’ve raised this issue to our team, and we’ll look at redoing the confirmation popup to make it more clear both which language you are deleting and confirming that this isn’t reversible, so it shouldn’t be for the faint of heart.
If there’s anything else I can help with please let me know!
Maybe, implementing something like github’s confirmation screen where you need to type the name of the repository to be deleted, in this case, one would need to type the name of the language and push a big, glowing, scary button. Ahh I can almost feel the frustration of Mr. Michael.
That’s an interesting idea too, though might cause a few problems as our site interface is available in multiple languages, so it might be tricky to accept multiple versions for the same language. In any case, we will give this proper attention and make sure we make some changes here that hopefully reduce the occurrence of the accidental deleting of a language.