Evaluating a LingQ tutor and the discussion report

I like tutors who are interesting and get me talking. I think it is important the the Internet connection be good so that I can hear clearly.

I get great value from the discussion report. I like to receive at least 10 or so phrases containing the words that I did not use properly. The longer the phrases or sentences, the better. I usually try to provide the same in my reports when I am a tutor. some tutors provide the phrase that used incorrectly as well. I do not do this, and am somewhat indifferent to this practice, preferring to see just the correct phrases. I know some other learners feel differently about this.

I confess that also like it when the tutor tells me that I did well in the discussion, whether I did or not.

What do you like to get in your reports?

How important is the report compared to other qualities that you are looking for in a tutor?

What are the qualities that you appreciate most in a tutor?

As a tutor I correct according to the following guidelines:

"How I correct in the Skype chat box:

I write phrases in the Skype chatbox

If I use capital letters it means you said a phrase and I fixed the capitalised part of it.
If I put a minus “-” sign before a word in parentheses “()” it means take the word out.
If I use no capitals, it is just a suggestion of a phrase you could have used during that point in the conversation.
If I use the “//” signs. For example, “/wool/” it means the pronunciation was not so clear."

In the comments box, I will write “thanks” or “good job”. If there is a repetitive error or if there was a big improvement I will comment briefly on that, but I usually keep it short. It has been well established in the TESL literature that grammatical feedback is not nearly as useful as simplly learning correct examples.

"I confess that also like it when the tutor tells me that I did well in the discussion, whether I did or not. "

Ha ha. I do too, actually.