Do you Use Coins as Valuable Metric of your Progress?

As I have a bit more energy in this period and I hope to be able to keep it, I would like to approach a better way to measure my daily commitment on every language compared to what I did in the past. I’m not very good at doing this, I admit.

I usually focus on known words, I know others focus on words read, and a few on listening time. But I was wondering, is any one of you using coins as a valuable metric?

I know LingQ has different parameters for coins depending on reading, listening, and so on. Are those balanced?

Do you think this metric has any real value? If yes, I would you daily/weekly/monthly use it?

Thanks.

1 Like

It highly prioritizes known words. An hour of listening is not even 10 minutes reading usually. I do wish it were more balanced, and that there were higher levels of streak maintenance since the ‘insane’ setting is anything but

I think time is a better metric better than known words (words read/minutes listened), as long as you know you are focused while studying

3 Likes

I wouldn’t worry too much about coins. I only worry about them in so much as to keep my streak, which I sometimes lose anyways due to being offline the entire day, as offline LingQ activity is only added upon reconnecting to the Internet, hence you lose your streak. Apart from that, I don’t worry too much. But to get 1,000 or 2,000 coins in a day takes me a well while. So if I really had a big goal, I’d pick something like that. But really I do other activity outside of LingQ (movies, TV series, speaking, and sometimes my grammar book), which when you manually add them, you don’t usually get coins. For this reason I don’t really care too much about it. I would go for a specific time spent with the language on whatever platform.

2 Likes