Chatting on a thread - a better quality of English grammar?

When doing a quick post of an opinion on a thread, I don’t usually worry about completely proper English. The tone is conversational. I don’t pay attention to things like capitalization rules, grammar, spelling, and clarity. I use slang or pop culture references. It is stream-of-consciousness. I am not producing a formal business proposal, I am just chatting. I rarely revise.

However, on LingQ forums, I realize that English learners are watching. I should behave like a college educated native speaker who is capable of producing proper English.

Truth is, for my average thread or blog post, if submitted for corrections at LingQ, would be criticized.

The good thing is if I do reread a post and see in my haste I made a grammatical mistake, LingQ has the ‘edit’ button. Phew!

It takes more attention to be grammatically correct and concise. I am 50 years old. I graduated college almost three decades ago. It has been a long time since I have had to recall those grammar rules, let alone explain them to someone who is a non-native English speaker.

Plus it is also true that given my age, I have an out-dated mode of writing. I don’t ‘text’. It is a real challenge for me to express myself in Tweets, because abbreviations and brief sentiments are just not my style. I grew up in the age of long letter writing. I read glorious English novels where one sentence could sprawl along for an entire paragraph in convoluted use of language.

I have to think to make my sentences simple.

I found this out quickly when I started writing my Korean pen pals 3 months ago. I can utterly confound, entirely unintentionally. My Korean friend taught me this week “헷갈려요. 혼동돼요.” which means “I am confused. I am in a daze.” He was using it for me the novice Korean learner, but it works in reverse with me as the English speaker to a ESL student.