CertTESOL fee hike

I am very cross, and this is why.

I have a place on a TEFL course at my local college. The course is the CertTESOL (see CertTESOL | Trinity College London), the qualification preferred by the UK government and equivalent to the CELTA.

The cost of the course was £750, which seemed a bit steep considering that I have 3 years experience as a college and university lecturer, plus 2 years experience as an online TEFL tutor. Still there you are. You need this piece of paper to get allowed into a classroom as the most junior of EFL teachers in the UK, so you have to pay your money and do your 120 hours of training.

However yesterday I got a letter from the college announcing that the price has gone up by £500, and you have to pay by September. I can’t afford it and shall have to withdraw from the course. Maybe I can save up for a place for 2011, with money earned from…erm…teaching English as a foreign language? Or do I have to get a job doing something else, to be able to afford the training for the job I actually want to do?

Once you have the CertTESOL, there is a further qualification, the DipTESOL, for teachers with experience looking for a more responsible position. I presume (though I haven’t seen it actually stated anywhere) the CertTESOL is a necessary prerequisite for studying for the DipTESOL. It is in any case a de facto prerequisite, since without the Cert you can’t get anywhere near students learning English, and you need classroom experience to do your Diploma.

OK Steve, you can say “It’s what I’ve been saying all along!” now!

Helen, and others. ( I hope Vera is following this too)