Can I contribute to a language course if I'm not a paying member?

Greetings!

First of all, sorry if this is a stupid question, I’m relatively new to LingQ.

Can I contribute to a language course if I’m not a paying member? I know that you can import five lessons with a free account, but I’d like to use those for my own study materials. I would still like to contribute to the Finnish course, so it can become an actual course instead of a beta one. I could provide lots of texts with audio, like regularly added news articles.

7 Likes

I hope you can, for the sake of the site. I would imagine that an offer from someone willing to “provide lots of texts with audio” in FINNISH of all languages, isn’t going to come around everyday.

Plus, you have a nice voice and seemingly decent audio equipment.

2 Likes

Of course you can!

The good news is that the lessons you create will end up giving you points, points which can be used for conversations with other tutors or for writing corrections in your target language or which can even be used for the membership fee. You can even cash points in for cash. (i.e. you can earn money). Admittedly, you need to earn a lot of points for the last two options (at least 10,000 points). You only need 150 points to get a writing correction of a short text or 500 points for a conversation in your target language.

Every time someone clicks on one of your lessons, whether or not they study it, you will receive points. Unique clicks only! If the same user clicks one of your lessons 10 times in total over a period of days or weeks, it is only the first click that counts. The amount of points you get per “unique” click is negligible, popular languages tend to receive more clicks and better quality lessons receive more clicks. By better quality, I mean good quality audio, strong, likeable voice etc. I’ve found that when I like a person’s voice I tend to stick to that person’s lessons, else I just move on.